Skip to content


About our Board committees

From time to time the Board appoints standing committees to deal with specific matters. Committees generally meet quarterly in conjunction with board meetings. The committee chairperson reports at each board meeting and when necessary takes forward recommendations for approval.

The Audit and Finance Committee

The Audit and Finance Committee assists the Board in fulfilling its obligations and oversight responsibilities relating to the audit process, financial reporting, governance of the corporation's pension plans, the system of corporate controls, and various facets of risk management.

Chair: Victoria McMillan

Members: Amanda HobsonVasee NavaratnamJohn Nunn

Capital Projects Committee

The Capital Projects Committee provides oversight and strategic recommendations with respect to BC Hydro's activities in support of growing and sustaining the power system. This includes capital planning and construction to generate and supply power (properties, Capital Infrastructure and Project Delivery, managed power system and dam safety projects, asset health assessments, and the 10-year capital plan).

Chair: Vasee Navaratnam

Members: Victoria McMillanJohn Nunn

Corporate Governance & ESG Oversight Committee

Corporate Governance & ESG Oversight Committee's initial objective will be to establish an ESG (environment, social, governance) strategy for the company, and once that is set, will move into an oversight/monitoring of ESG practices/reporting function.

Chair: Irene Lanzinger

Members: Chief Clarence Louie, Victoria McMillan, Nalaine Morin, Catherine Roome

Operations, Planning & Information Technology Committee

Operations, Planning, Information & Technology Committee provides advice and direction to management on emerging issues that have large implications for planning and support of company-wide operations, information and technology.

Chair: Lynette DuJohn

Members: Irene Lanzinger, John Nunn

People & Culture Committee

The People & Culture Committee provides strategic and policy level advice and direction on matters that drive effective human resources policies and practices including goals and objectives of executive team members, total compensation philosophy and strategy, employment engagement issues which are sensitive and central to corporate success.

Chairperson: Nalaine Morin

Board members: Irene LanzingerVictoria McMillanJohn Nunn

Strategy Oversight Committee 

Strategic Initiatives Committee oversees and provides guidance to management on key subjects like Strategic Plan, Integrated Resource Plan (IRP), Electrification, Revenue Requirements Application, Reconciliation and other subject areas as required.

Chair: Daryl Fields

Members: Lynette DuJohn, Amanda HobsonChief Clarence Louie, Vasee Navaratnam

Advisory committees

Peace River/Williston Reservoir Advisory Committee

Chair: Nalaine Morin

The Peace River/Williston Reservoir Advisory Committee provides advice and facilitates two-way communication between the Peace/Williston community and BC Hydro. Committee membership is composed of community leaders providing equitable representation from geographical and special interest groups within the region. Committee members, including the chairperson, are appointed by the BC Hydro Board.

Project boards

As the need arises, the Board appoints ad hoc project boards to deal with specific issues. Once a project group has completed its work and makes its report or recommendation to the Board of Directors, it is disbanded.

The Board currently has one project board, providing advice and direction on the Site C Clean Energy Project. Membership on this project board is as set out in their respective Terms of Reference.

Site C Project Assurance Board

The board is tasked with ensuring that the Site C Project is completed on time and on budget, and that risks are appropriately identified, managed and reported on an ongoing basis.​​

The 9 members of the Site C Project Assurance Board include: