Gun Creek Campground
Recreation area currently closed due to COVID-19
After closing our recreation areas in March due to COVID-19 restrictions, we're now taking a staged approach to safely reopen them. This site currently remains closed, which includes the closure of all facilities including parking lots, beaches, trails, campsites, boat launches, picnic areas, and washrooms. We'll share more details about this site’s reopening as they become available.
Great stop during a Bridge River country tour
The Gun Creek campground is on the Carpenter Reservoir, which is part of BC Hydro's Bridge River hydroelectric system.
Surrounded by spectacular mountain scenery, the rustic Gun Creek Campground is an attractive destination, and a popular stop for those on a driving tour of the Duffey Lake and Hurley Roads or while visiting the Gold Bridge area. The campground is also a 20-minute drive from Tyax Wilderness Resort and access to a world-class mountain biking trail network.
Where it is and what you need to know
Resident stocks of Dolly Varden char, rainbow trout and kokanee are present in the reservoir. Fishers can try their luck in Gun Creek.
- Seasonal openings for free campground, available on a first-come, first-served basis (no reservations). Open year-round but maintained only from May 1 until October 14 (Thanksgiving Monday). During the off-season, please pack out your garbage and leave the site tidy for other visitors.
- Carpenter Lake Reservoir generally fills by late June, and water levels remain high until early November.
- At low water levels, visitors can explore nearby remains of the flooded town of Minto.
- Sorry, Gun Creek Campground has no drinking water.
- Gas barbecues are permitted, but briquet barbecues are not.
- Firewood is available for a small fee (cash only). Please inquire with the Recreational Area Warden.
- Follow the campfire safety rules.
This recreation area is located within the historic Bridge River Valley. During the early 1900s pioneers staked mineral claims and formed mining communities throughout this region.
The remains of one of these mining towns lie beneath Carpenter Reservoir. Bill Davidson, the President of Minto Gold, planned and built the town site of Minto in 1934 following the startup of the Minto Gold Mine.
For several years, Minto Gold was one of the most productive mines in the valley. However, a flood on Gun Creek in 1950 left the town inundated and severely damaged.
After the Terzaghi Dam was completed in 1954, the Bridge River waters were backed up and Carpenter Reservoir was created, flooding the town of Minto. For detailed information on Minto, visit the Bralorne Pioneer Museum.